The Neck Pickup Sweet Spot

Crusader

The Neck Pickup Sweet Spot

Several weeks after I bought my first Les Paul in 1977 I asked the shop owner why they don't make them with 24 frets and he said the neck pickup needs to be where the 24th fret would be to get the best sound. I thought he meant it has to be in that exact location so I was very skeptical. At another shop a few months later I heard a young salesman talking about the same issue and he said it was just distance from the bridge

I decided the only way to find the truth is to do my own experimenting and now I have done what I wanted to do all those years ago. I studied the Harmonic Series and compared pickups in different positions on three different guitars to arrive at my conclusions and I am convinced they are correct

Here are a few websites that cover the topic of the Harmonic Series and some of them touch on what I am talking about but I still haven’t found any that actually give a complete explanation

http://wapedia.mobi/en/Harmonic_series_(music)

http://www.physicsclassroom.com/Class/sound/U11L5b.cfm

http://www.gmarts.org/index.php?go=233

Most of my experimenting was on this guitar which I routered to get a pickup on the second octave where the 24th fret would be (I will call this position A) Before that I could only get it where the 26th fret would be (I will call this position :D

00beforeafter-1.jpg

First I moved a middle pickup in stages to position B which is 42mm and it was only slightly warmer each time. In other words position B just sounded like a warm middle pickup

Then I moved it 10mm further and noticed a significant change in tone as well as a steep increase in warmth. Finally another 7mm at position A the sound had completely changed to a clean rounded tone which seemed to cover the whole fretboard

To me this proves there is a sweet spot but the location does not have to be exact

01GraduallyWarmer.jpg