Black Limba Js

andyt

Nice to see somebody else doin a JS. :D

I have a nice piece of Limba set aside for one for myself, all one piece hopefully. Neck, body & headstock all cut & shaped from a single block. only glue joint is the fret board.

But as usual I never seem to have the time to do any work on it :D

This one should come out sweet. the grain should look realy good with the carve.

Padauk is fine for a fretboard, Ive played a few factory guitars withh Paddy FB's. I would guess the sapwood would be ok structurally, but I have not used any yet myself. I have tried finishing some sapwood and it does get a dirty kind of tint in the finish. You may want to do a test on some scrap if you have some.

I've always heard Black Limba was a PITA as a fretboard due to its brittle/chippy nature. You seem to have proven otherwise. How would you rate your fretting experience with Black Limba, and how would you rate it as a fretboard?

The board is paduak, though i could see how you'd get it confused. The light part is the same color pretty much.

Looks really nice. I love limba so much.

• 1 month later...
I've always heard Black Limba was a PITA as a fretboard due to its brittle/chippy nature. You seem to have proven otherwise. How would you rate your fretting experience with Black Limba, and how would you rate it as a fretboard?

The 'it's Padauk' angle has been answered, but let's get back to the 'brittle chippy nature' of limba (white or black)- not any of the stuff I've got. It cuts and planes like butter (like a good south american mahogany, only more so), easy to smooth, easy to carve, beautiful to look at and work with. One of my favourite woods. Too soft for a fingerboard, but a fantastic wood for necks, bodies, backs and sides.

• 2 months later...