Hi everyone, I'm John. I haven't been around here very long, but I've enjoyed reading many of the threads. It's always a learning experience.

I migrated here from the pickup makers forum, and haven't really done anything new since I registered 'til now. I'm a woodworker by trade, but mostly self taught when it comes to building guitars. I'm always working on a low budget, but I have good tools to work with, and a little free time now and then.

I'm building a Tele in J'master clothes, or sort of anyway.

The body is African Mahogany, Maple neck/fingerboard, 25.5 Scale.

jazzy1_zpsc1a51fb5.jpg

I make my own truss rods. I know that there's been discussion lately about F style necks. I anchor the rods directly under the nut. My theory is that this would give the best transfer of energy.

This will be a set neck. I've cut a step in the neck tenon so I can use a vintage style neck adjuster, and still have it extend beneath the pickup cavity once installed.

jazzy2_zps83627d9f.jpg

The guitar will have a stained/natural natural finish with no binding, so I chambered it from the back side.

jazzy5_zps67f0d136.jpg

routertable_zps925e648b.jpg

clamped_zps2dcfe03b.jpg

I finished the neck over the weekend, and got it glued into the body.

fretting_zpsa9fe6991.jpg

This is where I'm at now.

telmaster1_zpsb1dfda70.jpg

telmaster2_zps9901c42d.jpg

Interesting ideas. More jaguar then telecaster in my opinion. I must say, i am NOT jealous when it comes time to do truss rod adjustments. i do like the good longtenon though!