What wood for one piece necks?

I am just starting out building so I figure I should try and stock up on woods. I have been working with hard maple for necks and have liked it but I am curious as to what else is available for making one piece necks. By one piece I mean neck with seperate fingerboard. I may try a laminate neck down the road but I have very few tools at this point and cutting the neck out of a single piece works best for me at this point. Anyway, Warmoth has a whole list of woods used for necks, which of these have you guys had experience with and what do you like to use?

Bocote

Bubinga

Canary

Cocobolo

Goncalo Alves

Koa

Limba

Padouk

Pau Ferro

Walnut

Ziricote

Wenge

Hi Jay,

Another question that you need to ask is: What type of guitar/what kind of sound are you looking for? Also, do you want 1/4 sawn necks? If the wood is not 1/4 sawn, are you going to worry about stability, and if so what are going to do about it? :DB):D

Never thought there were so many things to think about, did you?

Take care, and take pictures.

Guitar Ed

Well, ideally I would look for 1/4 sawn. If I had a piece that was flatsawn I would probably use some carbon fiber rods. Im bassically building bolt on neck guitars. I will try glued in necks soon. I play mainly punk/rock so a gritty bridge pickup sound is what Im going for overall but I by no way want to limit my options for building.

The reason I prefer maple over alot of the other woods is because you don't have to do the dreaded grain filling. I love Mahogany just as well as the next person, but you have an extra step finishing the wood that I'd rather not have. What are some other woods mentioned that doesn't need a grain filler? That's what I'd be more interested in.. lol