2 Guitar Problems I'm Experiencing

Buckethead

Hey I'm still a beginner at guitar, and i'm having problems with 2 things.

1) I play some pieces of music where i'm using my first 3 fingers to fret a solo, but then the next fret requires a bend, which I can't perform with my little finger. My question is: were you supposed to be able bend using your little finger? and if so, what are some tips on how to.

2) I can't pick properly.

Instead of how you were supposed to kinda anchor on da bridge and span your little finger by the volume knob, I clench my fists as though i'm gonna knock someone out, and pick like that, can someone give me tips on how to pick properly, because even though I try, I can't adapt to the proper style.

Well, I'm moving into the intermediate beginner stage, so here's what I know:

1). You use your pinky to fret the note--the bend is actually performed by the third (and second) fingers. They do most of the work. It's the same when bending with the third finger--the second is helping out.

2). A lot of people think it's a no-no to anchor your finger, so I don't think that's a worry.

I tend to grip into a fist too, but I've found that loosening up my fingers a bit really helps in terms of tone, attack and accuracy. But I still don't fan my fingers all the way out like a lot of players do.

Like anything else, it's a matter of practice and concentration--you can convince your fingers to do what you want them to, you just have to work at it.