Binding an Arm Bevel

I'm working on an instrument right now where I carved the arm bevel, bent a top over it, and would now like to bind the instrument in some plastic binding. The only issue? Cutting the binding channel on the bevel. Obviously the router table is out for that section... And the router jig used for binding stuff like acoustics isn't working either as the angle on the arm bevel is greater than the angle on the donut that sits on the top.

So, how would you guys go about cutting this channel as I'd LIKE to avoid doing the old fashion gramel technique and chisels.

Chris

I've never done it before, but I would imagine a dremel with base could be made to work pretty well, though I would keep the channel slightly undersize for the first go just in case.

Small palm router with a rabetting bit plus bearing would be my guess. Might need to finesse the channel by hand at the transistion of the flat section of body and the arm rest.

The router table probably could work too. You'd just need to tip the body into the cutter so that the face of the arm rest remains flat to the table as it goes around.

Both methods above would require that the bevelled section is as level as possible, otherwise your binding channel could end up a bit wavy. A shallow setions in the channel are OK as they can easily be adjusted by hand to the correct depth later on. Deep spots in the channel will be difficult to recover from.