Affordable high gain passive pickups

love carvins and dimarzios.. d ont' care for mighty mites or cheap gibson pickups.. love old gibson humbuckers. lover ibanez V series pickups.. hate the BLaze pickups.. on the seven strings. damn sucky pickups.. tone less..

Too cool - three Lawrence fans on the same forum! :D I thought we were a dying breed. I've been using Bill's humbuckers since 1977 in various axes, and I've always loved 'em. Not for everybody, but they sure were a great alternative to Super Distortions back in the day. I like Duncans, and Barts are sweet, but there's just something about that L-500XL.

hate the BLaze pickups.. on the seven strings.  damn sucky pickups.. tone less..

Clearly you've never listened to Steve Vai's "Passion and Warfare" album. That was recorded with stock blaze pickups on his 7 string. That album sounds absolutley amazing.

I have a blaze bridge and air norton 7 for the 7 string I'm building. I can't wait. If your looking for high output pickups, DiMarzio might be the way to go. Check out the Evoloution, Steve's Special, Blaze, Breed, Air Norton, Super Distortion, Tone Zone. Check out their website, it's actually very helpfull, it gives all the spec's to their pickups. www.dimarzio.com

Ryan

I'm totally a Dimarzio guy. X2N is cool for Super High Gain, Also the Super Distortions or Evolutions

Seymour duncan makes an affordable version of the Invader, I believe they call it the Detonator. The Dimebucker is Pretty gnarly but kinda pricey. The screamin Demon isn't too high gain, but very tasteful.

EMG (I KNOW YOU SAID PASSIVE) has the HZ series which are passive(SEE PASSIVE) I have had good repsonses with some of these that I have installed.

Bill LAwrence is cool, but perhaps not on the affordable side.

For good deals check out Ebay.

Alot of the Ibanez pickups are very dimarzio sounding, infact some were made by Dimarzio specifically for I banez.