Ready About To Give Up

Duff Beer Man

Well i started playing 4 and 1/2 years ago. It was 8th grand summer and i had spent all my graduation money on a guitar. I started taking lessons from a guy at a local guitar shop and he focused on learning to read music more then anything. Mean while i didnt know i was learning to play completely wrong. He would never say anything to about how my hand rested on the guitar or anything. I stopped taking lessons and started taking guitar class at school took it for three years. Then i started taking lessons again from a different guy. He told me how i learned to play was the wrong way and thats why after like 30-40 min of playing my hand starts to cramp up and hurt like a mother told i took the short cut way (didnt know i was taking the short cut way). Well i ran outta money and had to stop taking lessons from him as well (lessons are 80 bucks a month here). I havent really sat down and played for about 5 months maybe longer. And now i can barely go 10-20 min without my hand cramping up. So im coming to you guys as my last resort. Teach me how to play correctly please, pics vids whatever you got.

Watch tons of videos of your favourite artists and watch how they play. I don't think there is a wrong or right way to play guitar, whatever YOU feel comfortable and is best for you. If you don't want lessons, get a tab book of someone you really like and just play from there, thats how i started, then when i got a feel for it i read more into it.

Hope my ramblings help =(

Hey man.

There isn't really a proper way to play, at least in my opinion, as long as you feel good and it doesn't hurt you, it's all good.

And who needs lessons?! Just long at Danny Gatton didn't take any lessons and he's amazing!

You just need to adapt to your style of playing, pick up the guitar and play, try to anchor your hand in a different way, use your wrist to suport your hands above the strings, or your pinky below the strings.