Progress On First Build

jb291

Hi all,

I have been reading books and trolling this site for the past several months. I have to thank you all for sharing your knowledge. This is my first try at building a guitar and this is what I have so far. My only regret is using curly redwood for the top, I didn't realize that it was so soft.

P2240004.jpgP2240002.jpgP2230001.jpgP2170016.jpgP1200001.jpgP1120010.jpgP1050007.jpg

Know what, dude? That's pretty damn GREAT for your first attempt! Pat yourself on the back! You really look like you know what you're doing! I'm sorry to hear about the redwood issue. It sure looks nice.

The only thing I'd change was to take down the size of the upper horn, it's far too large to look good, in my opinion. And talk about fret access! You'll have no problems there. What are the contols/electronics going to be like? I see it's LP style in the electronics department. Direct-mounted pickups, too.

It's good to see someone who "gets it" right from the starting gate. Not saying I was that great on my first build, but it's too often that n00bz come on the forum and it's clear they haven't done a scrap of reading.

A+ work!

hahaha, I wasn't point fingers at anyone in particular, and if I do remember correctly, you put together one of the coolest teles I've ever seen :D I still ask dumb questions! I've got a whole step-by-step sheet for making project #3, and for every step there's at least one question that I'd like advice on. It's just good to see someone come out right from the beginning and shows a decent product. All questions are welcomed, without questions, nobody gets enlightened.

I wonder, JB, if the guitar would look good with a pretty-symmetrical horn design, like a LP double-cut, or PRS, or the ESP Viper. Not saying you should change your design just because I say so :D