It Has Begun!

Well it seems that perhaps I did this in reverse (seeing as I posted the drawings for my second guitar before I even started my first one, yup it's addictive!)

So anyway...I spent some time tonight making some sawdust and a whole bunch of noise, and I have some pics!

Here's the breakdown:

Number%201.jpg

Fairly straightforward single cut solid body design. I was hoping to build this one out of recycled/scrap material, so far I have been successful.

Neck - leftover hardwood flooring (Maple and Jatoba)

Fretboard - Camatillo (member of the Rosewood family) I have had that peice for a few years now left over from another non-guitar related project.

Body - Still searching for a peice of wood for the body, seems the Mahogany Fairy doesn't frequent this part of Canada! :D

Top - I was considering Flame Maple, but since this is my first build, I thought it better to keep it simple so really that means that I haven't managed to salvage a piece for that either!

Hardware - Schaller 455 bridge GOLD w/GOLD locking tuners.

PUPS - Seymour Duncan P90's

Still need:

Pots, nut (Bone preferably), more free time!

Ok now the pics:

The neck gluing up (used every clamp that I had!)

Guitar%20Build%20Neck%20lo%20res-2.jpg

Guitar%20Build%20Neck%20lo%20res.jpg

and here's the Fretboard (say it with me "Camatillo")

Guitar%20Build%20Neck%20lo%20res-3.jpg

That's all for now! I hope to get back to work on it soon. I'll post pics!

Cheers,

STV.

Edited by nerosrevenge

Beautiful looking fretboard my friend! I have been seeing more and more of that wood and while I never really thought much of it, I am definitely starting to like some of it for instance that piece is very nice. It was kinda funny seeing the neck laminates with the notches from the flooring. I had to laugh a little, but I think if its perfectly useable its a genius idea as it saves a lot of work.