Complete Noobie Build

Hi all so here it is... my first post and my first guitar build all in one shot!

So here is the story. I have been playing guitar for many years and have played on hundreds of different guitars.

They all have there pros and cons. In playing many guitars i had never found one that was just perfect. I always love the feel of a stratocaster but have played a few neck thru's that had great sustain. i have also played many a les paul and rather enjoyed the sound mohogany gives.... then an epiphany occured to me i could build a neck thru strat with a mohogany body! THE PERFECT GUITAR...... now that i have gotten your hopes up i should tell you than this is not that build.. instead i will be building a typical clone of a strat (though i am sure this plan will have changes) to familurize my self with the build process and learn through trial and error and hopfully your input.

I will try and post some pictures of the build tomorrow as i picked up some wood this weekend.

Edited by aesache

ok so i managed to get 2 real nice big slabs of mohagany 15inches by 2 feet long and 2 inches thick (they were only 10 BUCKS a piece!)

these first photos are of the hog slabs as they came when i bought them

2.jpg

3.jpg

and this is them after they have been planed down to 1 3/4 inches

8.jpg

4.jpg

if you look close you will see 2 small cracks on the side they are the reason i got these so cheap but they will pose no issue for me as they will be cut away anyway

i was blown away by the grain in these! Anyone know what kind of mohogany these are?

also there has been a design change I have decided to build a strat with a tele body a "Strelecaster" if you will

ok got some hard maple for the neck today all three pieces yep you guessed it 10 bucks!

the one on the far right is quartersawn but the others are flat sawn should i use one over the other?