Help Me Pick Pickups?

Phont24

I have very little experience in different pickups and since I've heard so much good about Dimarzio I thought I'd try them. I play a lot of blues but I'm just getting into more stuff like Dragonforce, Vai, and Satriani. The next guitar I want to build I want more of a metal sound. I'm thinking of using an Evo in the neck and a Paf Pro or Paf Joe. Does this sound alright? I'd like some help choosing, because all of the descriptions all sort of sound the same. I play through a Line Six Spider II 112 if that helps. Thanks for the help in advance.

Edited by Phont24

Well, the DiMarzio super distortion is tried and true. High output, around 16KΩ DC resistance, (I think) :D . It was considered a standard for bands like Kiss, Boston etc. during the 80's. I have one in one of my guitars and like it. I've also had experience with Seymour Duncan pickups. The 4 conductor varieties are very versatile allowing you to experiment with different sound outputs by wiring them differently, eg. series/parallel, humbucker split into single coil, phasing.

Keep looking around and reading until you have a good idea. Some manufacturers have sound bites and full specs on their websites, I know SD does.

There are also Harmony Central reviews. Some of the info should be taken with a grain of salt, but you can get a general idea of what is favorable and what kind of money you might expect to spend.

Edited by Southpa

Metal sound? Go with EMGs! That’s pretty much the modern standard for metal.